

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The EdCan Network Announces its 2022-2023 Board of Directors and Advisory Council

This dedicated pan-Canadian group of education, not-for-profit and corporate leaders share a commitment to empowering K-12 staff to support ALL students.

TORONTO – October 25, 2022 – As one of the few national, nonpartisan bilingual K-12 organizations, which represents over 140,000 educators across Canada, the EdCan Network is pleased to announce that the following leaders in the table below were elected to serve on the EdCan Network's 2022-2023 Board of Directors.

2022-2023 EdCan Network Board of Directors

Claire Guy, Chair

Education Consultant, Rothesay, NB

Nandini Mulliah, Treasurer

Canada Finance Leader/CFO, AON Canada, Toronto, ON

Anne MacPhee, Past-Chair

National Director, Finance and Operations, Canadian Mental Health Association, Toronto, ON

Jacques Cool

Education Consultant, Montreal, QC

Tom D'Amico

Director of Education, Ottawa Catholic School Board, Ottawa, ON

Kathryn Goddard

Fundraising Consultant, Milton, ON

Normand Lessard

Secretary General, Association des directions générales scolaires du Québec (ADGSQ), Beauce, QC

Christian Michalik

Superintendent, Louis Riel School Division, Winnipeg, MB



Dr. Nicholas Ng-A-Fook

Full Professor and Vice-Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON

Eric M. Roher

National Leader, Education Law Group, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), Toronto, ON

Greg Thomas

Pricing Strategy and Research Consultant, Iris Pricing Solutions, Toronto, ON

Julie Wright

Director, Partners for Action, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON

"I'm honoured to work with such an impressive group of leaders who fundamentally believe in EdCan's potential to heighten our impact in Canadian K-12 education systems," says EdCan Chair Claire Guy. "The pandemic served to remind us that investing in the wellbeing of K-12 staff is no longer an option; it is our mandate and is foundational to student success. EdCan's <u>Well at Work wellbeing programs</u> serve the needs of an increasing number of innovative school districts that champion this important work."

Please download our <u>2021-2022 Impact Report</u> for more details on how EdCan is implementing its key priorities and strategies.

The EdCan Network Advisory Council provides a forum for expression of countrywide issues and trends in education and advises the Board on the direction and priorities for the Network. Council members provide visibility and act as advocates for EdCan within their respective professional communities. They are drawn from all regions of the country and serve a three-year term, which may be renewable for a second three-year term.

The following individuals will serve on the EdCan Network's 2022-2023 Advisory Council:

*Indicates EdCan Network Director

2022-2023 EdCan Network Advisory Council

David Allnutt

Consultant, Montreal, QC



Gilad Babchuk

Co-Founder and CEO, Compass, Vancouver, BC

Mary Ann Baynton

Principal, Mary Ann Baynton & Associates, Waterdown, ON

Jean-Pierre Bédard

Director General, Centre de services scolaire de Saint-Hyacinthe, Saint-Hyacinthe, QC

Marie-Josée Blais

Assistant Deputy Minister, Anglophone Education Network and Intercultural and Indigenous Relations, Ministry of Education, Montreal, QC

Dr. Lyne-Chantal Boudreau

Professor of Educational Administration and Researcher, Université de Moncton , Moncton , N.B.

Dr. Curtis Brown

Retired Superintendent, South Slave Divisional Education Council, Fort Smith, NWT

Rob Buttars

Director General, New Frontiers School Board, Châteauguay, QC

Eugénie Congi

Director of Education, Conseil scolaire catholique Providence, Windsor, ON

Jacques Cool*

Education Consultant, Montreal, QC

Paul Corrigan

Superintendent, Elk Island Catholic Schools, Sherwood Park, AB

Tom D'Amico*

Director of Education, Ottawa Catholic School Board, Ottawa, ON

George Daley

Deputy Minister, New Brunswick Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (Anglophone Sector), Fredericton, NB

Sarah Dunsford

Director, System Evidence and Design Branch, Strategic Policy and Planning Division, Ontario Ministry of Education, Toronto, ON



Dr. Sharon Friesen

Professor, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

Kathryn Goddard*

Fundraising Consultant, Milton, ON

Claire Guy*, Chair

Education Consultant, Rothesay, NB

Charlie Guy

Senior Career and Leadership Coach, CareerJoy, Toronto, ON

Dr. Judy Halbert

Adjunct Faculty Member, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Vani Jain

Executive Director, Daymark Foundation, Toronto, ON

Kevin Kaardal

Superintendent of Schools/CEO, Central Okanagan Public Schools, Kelowna, BC

Dr. Heather Kanuka

Full Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB

Gwen Keith

Director of Education, Holy Family Roman Catholic Separate School Division, Weyburn, SK

Marcel Lavoie

Deputy Minister, New Brunswick Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (Francophone sector), Fredericton, NB

Madeleine Lemire

Executive Director, Consortium provincial francophone, Calgary, AB

Normand Lessard*

Secretary General, Association des directions générales scolaires du Québec (ADGSQ), Beauce, QC

Anne MacPhee*, Past Chair

National Director, Finance and Operations, Canadian Mental Health Association, Toronto, ON



Christian Michalik*

Superintendent, Louis Riel School Division, Winnipeg, MB

Donna Miller Fry

Instructor, Business and Leadership, and Faculty Advisor, Yukon Native Teacher Education Program, Yukon University, Whitehorse, YK

Arlene Morell

President, Canadian Home and School Federation, Strathroy, ON

Nicole Morgan

Deputy Minister, Yukon Department of Education, Government of Yukon, Whitehorse, YK

Nandini Mulliah*

Canada Finance Leader/CFO, AON Canada, Toronto, ON

Dr. Nicholas Ng-A-Fook*

Full Professor and Vice-Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON

Nancy Pynch-Worthylake

Executive Director, Canadian School Boards Association, Wolfville, NS

Eric M. Roher*

National Leader, Education Law Group, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), Toronto, ON

Dr. Shelley Russell-Mayhew

Research Professor, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

Doug Sheppard

Superintendent/CEO, Delta School District, Delta, BC

Renee St. Germain

Director of Languages and Learning, Assembly of First Nations, Ottawa, ON

Anthony Stack

CEO/Director of Education, Newfoundland and Labrador English School District, St. John's, NL

Mary Lynne Stewart

Retired National Director of Leadership Giving and Corporate Partnership, March of Dimes Canada, Toronto, ON



Greg Thomas

Pricing Strategy and Research Consultant, Iris Pricing Solutions, Toronto, ON

Camille Williams-Taylor

Director of Education, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board, Ottawa, ON

Julie Wright*

Director, Partners for Action, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON

TBC

Deputy Minister, Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Halifax, NS

For more information about these Advisory Council Members, please visit: www.edcan.ca/council

About the EdCan Network

With over 140,000+ members representing the entire spectrum of K-12 education, the EdCan Network is focused on the continual improvement of education systems to enable all educators and all students to thrive. We support meaningful discourse and develop distinctly Canadian evidence-based professional learning content, programs, and services.

Learn more at www.edcan.ca or @EdCanNet.

Contact: Max Cooke, EdCan CEO (bilingual)

Tel: 416-591-6300 ext. 225 E-mail: mcooke@edcan.ca